Early Phi Mu

Founded as the Philomathean Society at Wesleyan College in Macon, Georgia, Phi Mu is the second oldest female fraternal organization in the United States. Mary Ann DuPont (Lines), Martha Bibb Hardaway (Redding), and Mary Elizabeth Myrick (Daniel) founded the literary society on January 4, 1852. It wasn’t until 1904 that the Philomathean Society became Phi Mu and the second, Beta chapter was established at Hollins University.

Learn more about the Founders, the Philomathean Society, and the early years of Phi Mu in the sections below.


Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future